top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturealicenewlandsmedia

Dissertation 2

For my university degree I have to complete a second dissertation module, For this, we have to look creatively at the topic of our first dissertation. To begin we created a website to be used as a blog To research in-depth contemporary issues and examples with our dissertation topics. For my topic of the reuse of dead celebrities in marketing, I looked further into the companies that own the rights of their imagery. Specifically, I looked out worldwide XR who own the rights to celebrities such as James Dean, Malcolm X and Neil Armstong.

However, this blog post is not focused on my work for this report that you can find a link to below if you are interested in the reuse of dead celebrity imagery. Taking into account what I discovered through this research project I discovered that the branding of passed celebrities is heavily influenced by a brands image.

Therefore I edited the image you can see below of Marilyn Monroe and created her image entirely out of branding and logos. I created this image on Adobe photoshop, Using the different tools and effects morphing some of the brands to fit the image perfectly and so that they bend and curve with her face shape. The image represents how a brand will now use a celebrity to create their own logo or brand image, but in contrast how a brand now needs a passed celebrity or current celebrity to keep their logo and company contemporary alive. I intend on creating a video of me painting this image and submitting this as my final dissertation creative piece. Let me know what you think of the image down below in the comments and if you think I should create another celebrity using brand logos.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page